Posted by: kherome | August 15, 2010

EDS is so complicated

Well, as usual EDS is taking me on a roller coaster ride.

I started having tons of heart palpitations. The sensation is of a “skipped beat” but it is actually what is called a PVC or “Premature Ventricular Contraction.” This occurs when the beat of your heart is dictated by an electrical impulse from the ventricle instead of the proper node. So I ended up in the ER and they gave me Metoprolol, which is a betablocker, to attempt to suppress these  PVC beats. If that doesn’t work, it’ll be a surgery called “Cardiac Ablation” where they find the faulty electrical impulse and burn it to prevent it from causing any more inappropriate beats.

So I wore a Holter monitor for 48 hours. I was to document every time I felt a PVC. In the 48 hour time span I documented over 100 PVCs. I had my yearly echo done last friday so we’ll see what results I get from that! Remember, ALL EDSers, regardless of type NEED an echo EVERY YEAR. I have EDS type 3 (HEDS), and go faithfully each fall for my echo.

I also had to see an Orthopaedic Surgeon about my hips. He suggested a surgery on my IT band to relieve the pain. Not so sure I’m ready for that…

Responses

  1. I’m part of the EDS group on facebook and noticed the link to your blog…

    I was diagnosed with Supraventricular Tachycardia (SVT) spring of last year. Took them awhile to diagnose it, but once they did i was put on beta-blockers (metoprolol being one of them). One would work for awhile before i’d either feel worse or it stopped working and i’d be switched to another. If they decide to up your dose be careful…i became a narcoleptic for a weekend–couldn’t stay awake more than 2 hrs before passing out in odd places/positions. i lasted about 4-5 months on beta-blockers before my symptoms got so bad that i quit without telling my doc. By then i already had my ablation scheduled. Took me nearly 1.5 months for all my heart symptoms to go away following surgery, but i am now back to being completely free of heart issues (for now). 🙂

    In my opinion if your doc gives you the option of surgery or meds i’d take surgery…the meds just prolonged my discomfort and symptoms. Feel free to contact if you have any questions.


Leave a Reply

Categories

