Posted by: kherome | July 14, 2010

EDNF conference

The EDNF conference in Baltimore is this weekend. Many bendies are going and hopefully it’s great fun and very informative.

I chose not to go for several reasons. The first and most important is the cost. I was disappointed to see that a conference for disabled people (most of whom live on disability payments) costs so much to attend! For me to go, with conference fees, flight, hotel, food it would have been about $1000. For that price I could easily spend a week in the Caribbean! The other thing I think should have been different for the conference is that it should be located in the center of the US. This would allow for easier travel for many. Central locations are always best, not one coast or the other. Having it way over tucked up in the NE of the USA makes it extremely costly to travel there for pretty much anyone west of the Mississippi.

Regardless I hope those going do have a great time and learn lots!

Responses

  1. I agree. I live on disability payments and so does my DH. I live in the Midwest and there is no way we could afford to get to the EDS convention, much less pay conference fees and for a hotel. I am waiting until the EDNF page has the information from the convention. I hope the information is free and we don’t have to pay for it, but I wouldn’t be surprised if we had to. I heard that Dr. Brad Tinkle has a new book on EDS called “Joint Hypermobility Handbook- A Guide for the Issues & Management of Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome Hypermobility Type and the Hypermobility Syndrome.” They are selling it on Amazon, I can’t wait to get it!

    • Hi Amy, nice to see you over here on the blog! Dr. Tinkle does indeed have a new book, I ordered it the second it was available, and have already read it twice. It’s quite good, you’ll enjoy it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

